A&G Half-Case Break – The Results

A couple of weeks ago I took part in another box break through Kidder Cards. It was a half-case break of 2013 Allen & Ginter’s and I’d purchased the Cardinals slot some weeks earlier.

Happily the cards arrived last week and although I didn’t get any major hits as I’d done the time before – click here for the details of that – I was still very pleased with the results!!

Here’s what I got –

agbreakbase agbreaksp agbreakminis

I came out with a full set of base cards (non-SPs) along with a fair few dupes as well. Oddly enough I only got the one Shelby Miller RC out of the six boxes despite the fact there were pretty much at least two of all of the other major RCs, including Puig and Machado.

I’m not sure what the collation was like across the board and we might get more details on this over time as some of the bigger case breakers write up the results of their breaks.

Out of the three Cardinal SPs in the set I got two of the three (Yadier Molina and Adam Wainwright – although I doubled up on the Molina). This means I’m an Ozzie Smith SP short of a full team set, so if anyone out there’s got The Wizard for trade then let me know as I’ll definitely be interested in that one!

Finally I got two minis (Stan The Man and Waino, both standard backs). I love the A&G minis, especially this years!! I’m still toying with the idea of putting together a set of the A&G back minis but keep baulking at the thought of how big a task I might be setting myself!

We’ll have to wait and see!!!

I don’t know if it’s me or not but there seems to be a whole lot more HOFers and retired players this year, not that I’m complaining as I like seeing older players depicted in modern sets, and the more different players that are added to those from previous years the better as far as I’m concerned!

So there we go!! No relics, autos or other hi-end inserts this time round. In some ways I’m glad I didn’t hit any of the framed relics as several of the ones that Geoff pulled as part of the break were damaged out of the box. It looks as if this was done during the packing process and I hope that Topps will resolve this for those who landed any of these damaged inserts!

Thanks go, as always to Geoff, for the break itself and the exemplary post-break customer service! Here’s to the next one!!

Leave a comment