Coming Soon… Topps Aluminum?!?!?!

OK…

Mmmmmm… Where do I start?

Just over an hour ago Topps posted this image on Instagram with the tagline – ‘Topps Aluminum. Coming Soon’

aluminum

Now I’m assuming we’re looking at another new set maybe? A metal set??? Perhaps a limited release? Or online only? Reprints?? Who knows?

I’m having a hard time figuring out what to say about this one to be honest. It all feels a little bit out of left field, and given the material that the card seems to be made from I’d envisage that it’ll be another high-end product. Something we’re all clamouring for I’m sure.

Well Topps, you’ve piqued my curiosity so far… Lets see what else you’ve got!!

3 thoughts on “Coming Soon… Topps Aluminum?!?!?!

  1. Interesting. I’m a big fan of oddballs and cards made out of metal would fit into that category. Reminds me of the 90’s when Leaf produced Leaf Preferred Steel and Skybox had their Molten Metal cards.

    • Damn!! Those sets bring back some memories.

      I was a big fan of Fleer’s Metal range back when I was a basketball collector!

      I’m really not sure how these will work. When I first saw the picture I though of a printing plate but with a much crisper image. However the ‘card’ looks much better cut than a printing plate so who knows??

  2. I really like this idea. I loved the acrylic cards inserted into Topps flagship this year. Anything odd to spice things up a bit, except maybe chrome vintage cards, they dont go together at all.

Leave a Reply

