“…And It’s Goodnight From Him”

So, it’s with a heavy heart that I write this as I’ve finally decided to step away from collecting (again) for the foreseeable future! This also means I’ll be stepping away from the blog for a while to.

It’s a mixture of a couple of things really, firstly not having a reliable source of ‘card funds’ to keep my own collection going, and secondly I’ve been steadily developing a distinct lack of enthusiasm for the Hobby over the last few months. This has spilled over into the blog as well as I’ve been finding it harder to muster the energy to post anything new and relevant. It’s almost as if it feels like I’ve said all I’ve wanted to say at this stage!

I went through the same thing back in October and thought I’d come out of the other side, but it didn’t take long for similar feelings to set in again, and this time I decided to be a bit more proactive in my decision making!

Don’t get me wrong, I still love Baseball cards and Baseball card collecting, it just isn’t a good fit for me at the minute. So rather than string it out and hope I get my mojo back it just seems to make more sense to take a break for a while.

I’ll still be active on Twitter, keeping an eye on what’s happening across the Hobby and the industry, and I’ll still be monitoring the blog on a regular basis so feel free to leave a comment or two if you feel the urge!

But before I go and place The Wax Fantastic on hiatus I just wanted to say a big “Thank You” to all of you out there who have taken the time to read, and comment on, what I’ve been writing about over the last year and a bit! The card collecting community is an amazing thing to be part of and I feel truly blessed to have made some great new friends since I started this blog up!

I’ll be back again soon enough, so rather than “Goodbye” I’ll leave with a “See you later”! And who knows when that random urge might just overtake me and I feel the need to crack open a box of wax at some point in the not-too-distant future? Some things never leave you I guess 🙂

And just so you’re aware I’m not turning me back on the blogging community either. I’ll soon be setting up another blog about another of my life’s great loves, this time from the world of television – Doctor Who!

So I’ll sign off now and wish you all a very merry Christmas and an even happier New Year!

Take care, God bless and see you all again soon!

Andy

4 thoughts on ““…And It’s Goodnight From Him”

  1. Thanks very much for all the fun, informative and enjoyable blogs you’ve written, they’ve been a pleasure to read and hope some day we’ll get to read more of them (cards, unfortunately I’m not a Dr Who fan haha)

    • Thanks Adie! It’s really appreciated!!!

      I have no doubt I’ll be back at some point in the future with a fresh sense of purpose!!

      Watch this space!!

  2. Andy – just found your blog today. Anyways, skipping ahead to 2014, glad to see your back collecting and blogging again. Really enjoy your posts and hope the renewed enthusiasm lasts. One more thing – love the 2014 Heritage product as well.

    • Thanks Dave. That means a lot and I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the blog. Whereabouts are you based?

      I’ve got a Heritage review coming up very soon so keep your eyes peeled!!

      I’ll probably be posting more as well soon now that the season’s started again! Starting to get a taste for it again 🙂

      Cheers, Andy

Leave a Reply

