Introducing My New PC

firstbase

I’ve been toying with this idea for some time and now that the off-season’s here I figured it was as good a time as any!

You see, Paul Goldschmidt excites me!! As a young hitter with incredible potential he was one of only 13 players to smack over 30 Home Runs this last season!! Only 13?!?!? That’s crazy, but if this is any indication of the post-steroid/PED era then I guess we shouldn’t be surprised!

So Goldschmidt has become my new collecting goal, and I’m pretty stoked about it!

And while you’re there, please bear in mind he was completely robbed of this years NL MVP award, probably due to the fact that Andrew McCutchen got to see some post-season action with the Pirates for the first time in like 200 years, or something! Have a read of this article from Captain Canuck over at Waxaholic, who sums up this injustice so much better than I ever could! It’s an awesome read with a great bit of research behind it!!

The A&G auto you see above is so far the only Paul Goldschmidt card I own (acquired in a trade a few months ago from fellow Brit, Jeff Vernon) so the sky’s the limit folks! I’m keen to set up some trades for any of his base cards/inserts and I’ve updated my ‘Trade Bait’ list that you can find at the top of this page!!

Let me know if there’s anything that interests you and maybe we can work something out!

Cheers!

Andy

5 thoughts on “Introducing My New PC

    • Don’t get me wrong, I do love McCutchen, and I think it’s great what the Pirates did this year… But Goldschmidt was a better player all round

      Compared to his ‘normal’ standards McCutchen had something of an ‘off’ year

  1. Glad to hear about your new PC, Andy. I had a brief look through my (admittedly meagre) collection for any Goldie cards I could send you, but unfortunately I turned up nothing 😦

    On the subject of NL MVP, I personally think McCutchen overall should have won. Here’s a great article by the baseball beat writer for the local central Arizona newspaper, justifying to rabid D-Backs fans why even he voted Goldschmidt second: http://www.azcentral.com/insiders/nickpiecoro/2013/11/14/explaining-my-mvp-ballot/

    TL;DR – McCutchen plays better defense at a more crucial position, is a better base-runner and hits for about the same BA and OBP (ballpark-adjusted). Defense + Speed > Power

Leave a Reply

