2014 Bowman Baseball Preview

And the 2014 Baseball previews just keep on comin’!

Here’s the big one for all you rookie and prospect fans with the first look at next year’s Bowman Baseball!

2014 Bowman Baseball Sell Sheet

Now I don’t know about you but is that base card design looking more and more “too much”? That’s the only way I can describe it! I absolutely loved the stripped back 2012 design, thought the 2013 design was OK, but the 2014 base card design??? Too much!!

The same goes for the Prospect card design as well. And while I understand a need for card design to evolve, usually with a tendency to build upon the look of the previous year’s release, I can’t help but think that Topps have gone a bit OTT this year!

I get the impression that Topps are designing their Bowman cards with a view to them looking good for their future Chrome release!

For me a good-looking Bowman base should be a good solid player image on a strong but basic card. Bowman is all about the Rookie Card, and now obviously the Prospect card as well, but too many over-stylised touches just detract from that. Topps have other products where style rules over substance, lets not see it happen to Bowman as well!

Another item of note is the return of the ‘1st Bowman’ stamp, but come on – what’s with that blue baseball with the blue ‘1’ protruding from it? Damn, that’s one fugly logo!!

— Sigh —

And what about the inserts? Once more, for me Bowman isn’t really about the inserts. It’s never been the right fit for me. But now we get minis, die-cuts, and all other sorts of seeded oddities.

And then there’s the parallels, of which there are plenty –

  • Blue Bordered numbered to 500
  • Orange Bordered numbered to 250
  • Green Bordered numbered to 150
  • Yellow Bordered numbered to 99
  • Silver Bordered numbered to 75
  • Gold Bordered Numbered to 50
  • Black Bordered numbered to 25
  • Purple Bordered numbered to 10
  • Red Bordered numbered 1/1 (Hobby only)
  • Printing Plates numbered 1/1 (Jumbo box only)

I’m not the first one who’s said this, and I certainly won’t be the last, but do we really need THAT many parallels?? Will there ever be an end to the avalanche of coloured parallel cards that are inflicted on us these days?? Where do you go from here?

Now, I’ve just read back over the preceding few paragraphs and realise I’ve come across a tad negative so far. Unfortunately the only part of this release that really stands out for me is the 1989 “Bowman is Back” refractor autograph parallel, celebrating the return of the Bowman brand to the sports card market!

What does this say about me that, as per usual, the only thing I can get excited about in a new card product is the retro themed insert?

When I first got into collecting sports cards I started out as a Rookie Card collector and it saddens me to see how little importance collector’s seem to attach to the once-mighty Rookie Card! Sure, we all know that prospect cards are in vogue these days but surely there’s still a place in our hearts (and collections) for the humble rookie?

Overall I can’t help but feel that the Bowman brand is losing its way a little, and the look of these new cards does nothing to dissuade me from that opinion! I just feel that there are too many gimmicks in the product, gimmicks that would work better in another set! They just don’t really belong in Bowman Baseball!!!

Naturally it will sell by the barrel load and will no doubt make prospectors incredibly happy, but I’ll happily pass this one up when it arrives around the middle of next year!

Let me know what you think! Is Bowman the set for you? Or, like me, are you saddened by the apparent demise of the Rookie Card?

Leave a Reply

