One Year On – A Blogger’s Retrospective

The 10th of September!!

On this day in 1897, a 25-year-old London taxi driver named George Smith becomes the first person ever arrested (in the UK at least) for drunk driving, after slamming his cab into a building. Smith later pled guilty and was fined 25 shillings.

I just love stuff like that! Little fact-lets of useless information that will normally only see the light of day in a pub quiz! Oscar winning actor Colin Firth was also born on this day in 1960! There’s another one for you!!

Coincidentally, on the 10th September 2012 I published my first post on this very blog and The Wax Fantastic was officially born! The one you’re reading now is my 250th!! It goes without saying that the modest success that it’s enjoyed over the last 12 months has come as somewhat of a surprise and I feel truly blessed by the way in which the blog has been received by other collectors and Hobby fans alike!

I was never really sure what to expect when I first set things up. I knew my original mission was the somewhat lofty goal of trying to bring together the fragmented sports card collecting base here in the UK, and I’d like to think that we’re definitely in a better position 12 months on. A number of collectors have come out of the woodwork in response to some of what’s been written here, but there are others amongst us who have pushed the cause even further, and it’s no coincidence that we’re up to 27 members in the UK Cards Yahoo Group that my good friend Glenn Codere set up last October!

And yes, while 27 is a pretty modest number in the grand scheme of things, in the context of the UK-based collecting community it’s a pretty decent crowd!!

However, I guess the biggest surprise for me has come from over in the US and Canada! Thanks to this blog and the power of Twitter I’ve managed to reach out to, and communicate with, a multitude of collectors and industry types across the sports card collecting spectrum! And the best outcome of this is that I’ve made some great new friends along the way, which is something I’ll never take lightly and will be eternally grateful for!

Over the last year I’ve had an absolute blast putting this blog together and feel incredibly fortunate in seeing it welcomed into the wider blogging community! We all do this simply because it’s something we love to do, becoming part of a Hobby that we’ve all taken to our hearts!!

Sure there are plenty of frustrations along the way, plenty of times when we all like to scream, moan and/or bang our heads against a brick wall, but we keep coming back for more, time after time after time! Who knew that these small pieces of cardboard could have such hold over us?

Anyway, I’ve said my bit for now!

Thank you again for all of the comments, feedback, love and support that you’ve given to myself and The Wax Fantastic over the last year! Without you guys out there reading I’d have probably given up a long time ago! A can’t quite believe we’ve made it this far – but here we are regardless!!

I’ll continue this retrospective soon with a look back at some of my favourite posts of the last year, but in the meantime here’s to the next 12 months! Cheers!!

Andy

2 thoughts on “One Year On – A Blogger’s Retrospective

Leave a Reply

