My Holy Grail

I don’t labour under any illusion that I’ll be collecting Baseball cards forever!

I know that some point in my future I’ll eventually turn my back on the Hobby and walk away, happy in the knowledge that I’ve had some fun along the way! And while my tastes and collecting habits may well wander all over the bloody place, there are certain cards that I always find myself coveting more than others, and I would like to think that I would have had a stab at acquiring at least one of them before I say my final goodbyes!

So while I might have a 1917 Collins-McCarthy Rogers Hornsby firmly in my sights – or perhaps a 1955 Topps Koufax or Clemente (and not forgetting a 1934-36 Diamond Stars Joe ‘Ducky’ Medwick) – there is one particular card that stands out for me above all others, and it’s this one –

MusialBowman

The 1948 Bowman Stan Musial rookie card is my ‘Holy Grail’ of Baseball cards!!

This probably shouldn’t come as a major surprise to many of you who know of my love for the St Louis Cardinals, but there’s something about this card that holds a special place in my heart.

Firstly, I just simply love the 1948 Bowman set. With its black and white images, a checklist of only 48 cards and measuring only 2 1/16″ x 2 1/2″ this set is chock full of rookie cards of a number of Hall of Famers! Click here for a great article on 1948 Bowman from the PSA website.

Secondly, it’s Stan ‘The Man’! I really can’t add anything else 🙂

One of the great things about this card is that it can be picked up ‘relatively’ cheaply if you’re not too bothered about the condition. Here’s one that recently sold on eBay for $81.75!!!

musial_81_75

Graded examples do tend to go a lot higher – a lot, lot higher in fact – but one day you will be mine!! Oh yes, you will be mine!!

I’d love to think that most collectors have that one special card that they either already own, or one which they covet above all others – their very own ‘Holy Grail’!

If you have I’d love to hear what it is and why it’s so important to you!

2 thoughts on “My Holy Grail

  1. Hi, my name is Ray and I purchased the ’48 Bowman Musial about 10 years ago for a little under $200. The card is in very good condition. I’m assuming you own the card, but if you do not, I would consider trading you the card I you have something in your collection I covet. T he Musial is the hem of my limited baseball card collection, but again, if you held something I want I would consider swaping. Happy collecting,
    Ray

    • Hi there Ray!

      Thanks for getting in touch.

      Unfortunately I don’t own the Musial yet but sadly have nothing of value to trade for it.

      I’ve recently been scaling back my whole collection and have very little left!!

      Thanks for the offer though!

      Andy

Leave a Reply

