Which one of these would you rather own and why?

Just a short one this time, but do me a favour and look at the following two cards, both of which ended on eBay within the last few days.

I’m not going to rabbit on at length here but I was just curious as to which of the cards you’d rather own and why?

HankAaronRC MikeTroutAuto

FYI – Both are raw copies of the particular player’s (arguably) best rookie/prospect card and if it makes any difference they both finished on roughly the same amount, with the Aaron at $405.99 and the Trout at $399.99!

And finally, if you’ve made a decision on either of the above two cards, would it make a difference to you if the Aaron looked like this?

HankAaronRC_Poor

Just interested in hearing what you all have to say! Thanks for your time!!

13 thoughts on “Which one of these would you rather own and why?

  1. I think I’d rather have the Mike Trout card for the autograph. I’d be just as satisfied with a reprint of the Aaron rookie for a fraction of the price. (Not that I really have $400 to spend on a baseball card.)

  2. 100% the Aaron for me, even if creased. The Trout is spectacular, and one of the best examples of an important modern rookie card. I just doubt it will ever be as iconic as the 54 Aaron.

  3. I’d take either Aaron in a heartbeat over the Trout. I love the character of vintage cardboard! Aaron has proven himself as one of the all-time greats! Trout is a phenomenal player, but is a long way from being Hank Aaron. Plus, there will be thousands more Mike Trout autographed cards produced over his career, but there are a limited number of Hank Aaron rookies.

  4. Easily the Aaron. Prices for autographed cards of young current players seem way overvalued to me. My logic is– if they have great careers they’ll be signing lots for a long time. If their career is shortened their signatures won’t be worth as much anyway. I suppose if they limit the amount they sign and demand exceeds supply you could make a case for the high prices lasting over time. When you can get nice auto cards of Banks, Musial, Killebrew, Berra etc for a fraction of that Trout something’s out of wack. You could probably get all four I mentioned and then some for under $400. Maybe I’m just a cranky old man.

    • You know what, when I’ve got the time, and cash, I might try and take you up on the ‘Banks, Musial, Killebrew, Berra for less than $400’ challenge at some point 🙂

  5. Hank, and it’s not even close. The history aside, Trout could flame out in five years. Hank will always be Hank.

    There isn’t a modern card out there I’d trust to hold value at $400.

  6. I could never afford either of these cards. But if someone was giving the card away, I’d take the 54T Aaron. It’s pretty simple for me… I like vintage and Aaron is one of the all-time greats, while Trout isn’t.

  7. I would take the Trout because:
    • I’m not a vintage collector
    • Do all pictures from around that time look close to that one, because he looks a bit gormless to me.

    • Sam.

      You might want to tone down the use of “gormless”!! As one of the youngest baseball card collectors I know of in the UK I appreciate that you probably didn’t mean it that way but it comes across as a pretty racist thing to say! I don’t want to come across all heavy-handed here but I didn’t feel as if I could let that one slide I’m afraid.

      The player’s image on the card would have been taken from an actual stock image used by Topps so it’s not a representation, that’s what Henry Louis Aaron actually looked like circa 1954!

      When looking at these two cards I’d never even consider the $$$ aspect! For me I’d take Aaron everytime without fail, even the ‘lesser’ of the two cards in terms of condition! Remember we are talking about one of the greatest power hitters to ever play the game!!

      But for me it goes beyond just that! We’re talking about a small piece of cardboard that was produced in 1954 which, like the player himself, has a legacy that’s finely woven into the very fabric of the game.

      Honestly Sam, if you ever get your hands on a card from that era there’s so much more to it than just a card of an old ballplayer! The card itself is an ‘experience’! Just to smell it, to feel its surface, to revel in it’s myriad of imperfections!! Having a card like the Aaron in your possession would be an absolute honour, something to be revered!! I can’t imagine anyone getting that kind of buzz from holding the Mike Trout!

      It might not be for everybody but it’s definitely for me!!

  8. The Aaron, I have only just started collectin vintage but love the character of the older cards and the history that comes with Aaron also helps, don’t get me wrong would love a Mike Trout auto but the Aaron wins for me

  9. I’d have to go with Aaron. Without the signature, I don’t actually think the Trout is that nice of a card aesthetically.
    Although he does have a lovely signature, I’ll give him that. Significantly better than the Wil Myers auto I currently covet…

Leave a Reply

