Happy Birthday To Me!

As you get older it’s amazing how the remembering of dates becomes less and less essential, somehow less significant!

There are times in our past lives that certain dates, while once carrying great importance, eventually become assigned to the scrapheap of insignificance – that first drink of alcohol; your first ‘proper kiss’; the wedding anniversary (ahem) – you get the idea!

So it was with great surprise when I received a notification from WordPress yesterday alerting me to the fact that this very blog was one year old! That’s right – it’s been a whole 12 months since I registered my details and took the first baby steps in creating the blogging ‘behemoth’ that you’re reading today!!

However the reason that I don’t really attach a great deal of significance to 1st August 2012 is because I don’t really see it as The Wax Fantastic’s ‘proper’ birthday. THAT day is in mid-September (the 10th to be precise) and it’s the day I published my first post!

I feel that it’s a bit like the situation we have with the Queen. Our sovereign (let’s call her Liz, we’re all friends here) for those of you who don’t know, has two birthdays – her actual birthday on 21st April and her official birthday (when she was crowned) in early June. Now I’m not saying that The Wax Fantastic is akin to blogging royalty, however if any of you out there feel the need to draw such a comparison, who am I to stop you?

So, while I have to accept that we’re now ‘officially’ one year old I won’t be breaking out the bunting until 10th September, and I’ll probably be marking it with some sort of special giveaway. I’ll work out the details over the coming weeks but it’ll be a good one 🙂

So, all that remains is to send out a special big “thank you” to all of you who have taken time out of your day over the last 12 months to read the inane ramblings of a Baseball card fan on a tiny island thousands of miles away from the home of the Hobby we all love! I’ll put down my thoughts on how the blog’s been received and how it’s grown in another post, another time closer to its ‘proper’ birthday – but in the meantime keep reading thanks thanks again for all your support!

Leave a Reply

