What is Project 54?

Late last night I was indulging myself in some pre-bedtime eBaying!

Earlier that day I’d put together a post on cheating in Baseball and while trying to find a good image of a vintage Whitey Ford I came across a listing by Portland Sports Card Co. for a 1954 Topps in incredible condition for around $11 with less than 24hrs to go. I emailed for further details and Bill confirmed some really good shipping rates to the UK ($3.50 for 1-2 cards and $4.00 for up to 10). Interest piqued I started having a look through some of his other cards of HOFers from around the same era.

As an aside, if you have a real hankering for some vintage cards I’d suggest you go and have a look at Bill’s store on eBay. There’s a great selection of cards at pretty reasonable prices, including the shipping costs!

I eventually put several 1954 Topps in my watchlist – Warren Spahn, Eddie Mathews, Yogi Berra, Gil Hodges and Duke Snider – to go along with the Ford. ALL cards were in amazing condition given their age and all were between $11 and $20. “Bargain” I thought!!

Around three hours ago (just after I’d put the lasagne in the oven) I sat in front of my laptop to watch the time on these cards tick down.

It’s safe to say, thanks to a flurry of last minute bidding, that I didn’t win any of them!! All of them went, except for the Eddie Mathews, for upwards of $40, exceeding my PayPal budget by a fair few dollars! Win some, lose some I guess!!

However this short visit into the world of vintage Baseball left me yearning for more. I’ve always wanted to collect a set of vintage Topps but have always concentrated on sets from the 60s and 70s due to the heavy coin involved in putting together a set from the 50’s. But when I started to investigate things a bit further I ended up being pleasantly surprised.

The 1954 Topps Baseball set has been a personal favourite for a long time and has a grand total of 250 cards (including two Ted Williams), the majority of which are infinitely affordable if you’re prepared to bend a little with regard to the condition of the cards. Now if you ask me 250 cards is pretty achievable, even more so when you take out the ‘Holy Trinity’ of Aaron, Banks and Kaline rookies, and the Williams cards that bookend the set! I’ve looked on eBay and have found that you can even pick up the likes of Jackie Robinson at a reasonable price with a bit of patience and shopping around!

So, after giving the logistics some consideration, ‘Project 54’ is born!

Heaven only knows how far I’ll get with it? Given my previous track record with building collections the odds are pretty much stacked against me, but I’m going to give it a go anyway! If it all amounts to a failed exercise it will be worth it just to get my hands on some ’54 Topps!

And if one day I do go on to finish the whole set at least I’ll be able to say I own this beauty –

54_topps_aaron

#whatisproject54

One thought on “What is Project 54?

  1. Cool! I would love to own some ’54 baseball cards! My interest at the moment is ’89 Fleer. To be honest the design is kind of weird and they are dirt cheap. Only just now I bought a box of 132 cards and 22 stickers I’m looking forward to opening it.

Leave a Reply

