Cards-Nation

I’ve got a couple of days off work at the moment which, in itself, is a cause for celebration! But when Mr Postman pops the latest package from Kidder Cards through my letterbox this morning, well, it’s like the gift that keeps on giving!

This time it was the spoils from a 3-box break of 2013 Topps Archives in which I’d purchased the Cardinals for $8 plus the usual $4.95 international postage that Geoff charges!

And here’s what I found inside –

Very, very happy with this little lot!!

I got myself two complete base team sets, with a few dupes! This means I can keep one for myself and send the other to my buddy James over in Alabama! I don’t think that he’s got any of these Archives yet so it’ll be a nice surprise!

Us Cards fans have got to stick together after all!!

There was also a SP of Bob Tewksbury. I love the SP cards that Topps put into Archives! 2013 has 45 stars and sem-stars from the 70’s and 80’s who were big names in their day but who have largely been forgotten by the Hobby over the years. The only collectors who probably follow these guys now will more than likely be those who followed their exploits the first time around!

And lastly, but not leastly, there’s a Yadier Molina gold parallel #’d 180/199!!

Very nice!!!!

The picture I’ve put up here doesn’t really do the card justice! Mmmmmm, shiny!!

As I said in my review of an Archives blaster I opened a few days ago, I really want to do something from a collecting standpoint with this set – beyond just putting together the base set! So I’ve come up with the following –

  • Start putting together a full set of the 45 SP cards
  • Start putting together a 200-card set of the gold parallels

Both of these are infinitely achievable, although I reckon the latter will be more of a challenge than the former, and will be a lot of fun to try and track them all down!

In order to take a stab at these sets I’ve had to restructure what I’m currently collecting, so to this end I’ve decided –

  1. The Cardinals auto collection will carry on growing organically as I always intended. This collection was designed to be a long-term project so no real rush and no major changes there
  2. The Manny Machado collection has been scaled back to just collecting all of his rookie cards! This is much more manageable and will only extend through this years releases
  3. The white-bordered Gypsy Queen parallel set is now put on hold for the foreseeable future, but I look forward to coming back to this one!!

So, two new collections to start working on!!

I’ll put a couple of wants lists at the top of the page sometime soon so I can keep track of what cards I still need! If there’s anything you can help me out with then please let me know and I’m sure we can work something out 🙂

Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

