‘Scuse Me! Haven’t I Seen You Somewhere Before?

Topps is no stranger to reusing the same images on their Baseball cards. Here’s an early example from 1954, 1955 and 1956 respectively –

54mays 55mays 56mays

Now I can understand that back in the early days there weren’t so many player images doing the rounds, so this kind of duplication is understandable!

But these days there are so many different ways of capturing player images that the idea of reusing stock images on Baseball cards is surely something that is much easier to avoid.

I wrote a post at the start of this year where I’d spotted this very issue occurring with a Kevin Gausman prospect card. Click on the link below to have a look!

Spot The Difference!

Well it looks as if Topps have been at it again as a search for some Yoenis Cespedes cards has just highlighted…

2012 Allen & Ginter’s Base

2013 Topps Heritage Clubhouse Collection Jersey

2013 Topps Archives Base

2013 Topps Archives All-Star Insert (Retail Exclusive)

cespedes_as

See what I’m saying??

That’s four different cards from three separate products over a 10-month span! Isn’t that a bit on the excessive side?!?!?!

C’mon on Topps… Any chance you could treat us to something different?

For instance… I’m loving this variant from the just released 2013 Topps Series 2!! Now this is more like it!

And I thought I looked a cool SOB in a pair of sunglasses!!!

*

READER NOTE: I really don’t look cool in sunglasses! I felt like I needed to clear that up!

Leave a Reply

