Breaking Good

Organised box breaks!

Everyone seems to be doing them these days! eBay’s littered with them and if you follow the right people on Twitter you’ll no doubt come across a fair few there as well!

I initially treated them with a great deal of suspicion. I had a go through eBay last year on a guy who was selling slots on a box break of 2012 Allen & Ginter’s. I never got the cards in the end so that was a nice $11-plus-postage lesson well learnt!

It wasn’t until a couple of months ago, after reading numerous recommendations on Twitter, that I decided to have another go. For my first ‘proper’ organised break I went with Geoff Kidder of Kidder Cards and picked up the Orioles and the Cardinals in a 3-box break of 2013 Gypsy Queen. Regular readers of this blog will know the results of that particular break, but just in case you missed it you can relive it again by clicking on the following two links –

Kidder Cards Gypsy Queen 3-Box Break – Pt. 1: The Orioles

Kidder Cards Gypsy Queen 3-Box Break – Pt. 2: The Cardinals

Last week, after speaking with Doug at The Pack Gambler, I decided to grab three random team spots in their single box break of 2013 Topps Archives Baseball. The spots were $5 each and I ended up with the Rays, the Angels and the Braves!

I’ve spoken at length about my love of last year’s Archives release and I was expecting big things from this year’s too! I entered the break just so I could get my hands on a few cards, so when the cards turned up yesterday I was pretty excited as I ripped open the envelope.

And here’s what I got!

The Rays

*

The Braves

*

The Angels

The Inserts

Note: The Josh Thole Bowman Chrome Autographed RC came as an extra incentive for joining the break in the first place

*

The Extras

These cards were all thrown in as extras. It was just a case of ‘pick-a-team’!

*

The common theme through both of these breaks was an exceptional and friendly service. In both instances the cards were incredibly well packaged and arrived really quickly from the US/Canada. The cards from The Pack Gambler were posted on the 5th June and arrived on the 10th, and you can’t really argue with that!!

As far as I’m aware at the moment Kidder Cards and The Pack Gambler are the only two organised breakers who ship internationally, and based on my experience so far I can’t recommend either of them highly enough! In fact I’ve just ordered another team slot (the Cardinals) from Geoff for a 3-box break of Archives Baseball. As I write this he’s still got 15 teams left available at $8 a pop so why not have a look and maybe have a go if one of the teams interests you. Click here to get to the store!

Box breaks are an indecent amount of fun and a cheap way of getting hold of a few great cards, along with the potential for a surprise or two along the way. I’ll continue to write more about these types of breaks in the future. Hopefully more sellers will start to consider shipping overseas as another viable option to entice more customers through their doors.

But as it stands Geoff Kidder charges a flat rate of $4.95 on any sized international order while The Pack Gambler includes shipping to the US as part of their initial price but charges an extra $3 on top for international shipping!

Both are absolute bargains given what us ‘foreign folk’ normally have to shell out on posting but please be aware that these rates may well change at any time, and it’s worth contacting the guys in advance just to confirm if you have any questions. You can do this directly through their websites or on Twitter @kiddercards and @packgambler

Tell them I sent you 🙂

One thought on “Breaking Good

  1. Thank you very much for writing about both myself and “Kidder” in regards to our breaks. I can speak for us here at The Pack Gambler that it is a pleasure to talk with and ship with those overseas. Appreciate the kind words and look forward to having yourself and other overseas customers join us for a break or other products.

Leave a Reply

