The Death Of Baseball Cards? – A Postscript

A couple of nights ago a put together a post entitled The Death Of Baseball Cards? Apparently So!

It wasn’t designed to be anything groundbreaking (in fact it wasn’t – far from it), just a few musings about an article I’d read earlier in the day focused around the naysayers who seem to pop up every now and again predicting the demise of the Baseball card industry and the Hobby!

I wrote it pretty late at night (UK time) and posted it just before I went to bed, along with the customary tweet! What followed took me a bit by surprise as for the next couple of hours my phone kept buzzing with email comments and corresponding Twitter activity! To say that my wife wasn’t impressed with my early morning messages would be an understatement 🙂

As I write this it’s been my popular post ever, with over 500 views and still counting!

And while 500 views isn’t necessarily a huge amount when compared to some of the bigger blogs out there, for this Baseball card blogger over in little old Blighty it is a bit of a big deal!

So the purpose of this postscript is twofold!

Firstly I’d like to thank all of you out there who took the time to read, tweet and comment! It’s quite a humbling experience to know that there’s enough people out there who are prepared to take time out of their own lives just to read the random musings of a 42-year old Baseball fan from a small island a few thousand miles away from the home of the great sport that we all love!

I can’t begin to describe how much I appreciate it!

Secondly I’ve got a couple of apologies!

Apology 1 goes to Rich Mueller, managing editor of Sports Collectors Daily, for mistakenly assuming that Rich Klein (the author of the piece I referenced) was the actual editor of the site as well! Like I said Rich, we can’t have Rich K taking all the credit for the hard work that you do 🙂

And while I’m on the subject, please head on over to Sports Collectors Daily as it has some incredibly interesting and well-written articles about all aspects of sports collecting! There’s always something fascinating to read on there – where do you think I steal get half my ideas from?

Apology 2 goes to gentleman by the name of Adam who was the first to leave a comment on the post. The comment read as follows –

“Wish it was the death of all these self important card blogs…”

Now I immediately assumed that Adam was having a dig at me for the points I’d made in the post (see how fragile my ego is?) but a later comment actually pointed out that Adam could well have commenting on the blogs that I’d been highlighting!

See – this is the problem with the ambiguity of the written word!

If this is the case Adam, then I’m sorry – I’ve done you a great and unjust disservice!

But as an aside, thanks to James Anama for having my back!! And also give James’ blog a look as well – bdj610’s Topps Baseball Card Blog!!!

So, I’ll sign off for now! Thank you all again for your support – it means a lot!

Leave a Reply

