Hi, Everyone!

bobbleglenn    Hello to The Wax Fantastic community!

As you will have gathered from Andy’s posts, I’ve been asked to contribute an occasional word or two to the blog on the subject of vintage collecting. Hopefully, I’ll also throw something else in to the ring once in a while, but for the most part I’ll do my best to give those of you who might be a bit new to the hobby some insight into the wonders and joys of vintage cards.

I guess it would be best to start by telling you who I am. My name is Glenn Codere. I was born in Detroit, where I spent the first 13 years of my life before moving to Scotland in 1973. I now live in Glasgow. I started collecting cards in 1968, the same year my beloved Detroit Tigers won the World Series. As a kid, I collected cards from all 4 major US sports but baseball was always my big love. When we moved overseas in 1973 most of my collection was left Stateside. I often wonder where all those cards ended up. I re-discovered cards on my return to the US for a vacation in 1988, but it wasn’t until my next trip in 1990 that I really started to rebuild my collection. At first, I concentrated solely on putting together those sets that I had as a kid (1968-1973) and building a Detroit Tigers team collection. I was incredibly naive as far as prices were concerned, and grossly overpaid for cards in those early years, but it was a start. On returning to Scotland, I began to use a variety of mail-order dealers that I tracked down through Beckett Magazine. Over the next few years, I moved on to use several fledgling internet auction sites. These were the pre-eBay years. Progress was slow, but in 1997 I discovered an online group of collectors called OBC (Old Baseball Cards).

Membership of OBC has over the years not only boosted my collection, but its also given me a wonderful education in card collecting and connected me with many collectors across the US who I now count as good friends. Its also given me the appreciation of the joys of helping out fellow collectors whether it be through trade or (more fun) through sending out cards unsolicited. Thanks to OBC, a wide variety of online auction sites, and several dealers with whom I’ve developed relationships, my collection has grown from strength to strength. Since 1990, I’ve completed a run of Topps Baseball sets from 1968 to 1980 (more on the significance of that year in a later article!), as well as sets from 1960 (my birth year set!) to 1962, 1964 and 1965. I only need a handful of cards to knock off the 1963, 1966 and 1967 sets and have recently started working on sets from the 1950s.

In addition to baseball cards, I also work on US football and hockey sets from the late 1960s/early 1970s period, and Detroit Tigers, Detroit Lions (football) and Detroit Red WIngs (hockey) team collections from all eras. Lastly, I’ve also managed to put together a tidy little collection of cards relating to Bobby Thomson, who was born right here in Glasgow and went on to hit “The Shot Heard Round The World” in 1951 – one the most famous home runs in the history of the game. Although I do collect some newer stuff – mostly Topps Heritage Baseball – my real love is for vintage cards.

I’ve already got several ideas for articles floating around in my head – and believe me, there is plenty of space for stuff to float in! – which I hope you readers will find interesting. One thing I’d like to make clear though…..I really don’t consider myself an “expert” on vintage cards or the art of the hobby. I’ll do my best to get my facts straight, but I’m well aware that I’m still learning new stuff all the time. Hopefully, I’ll be able to share some of this knowledge with you as we go.

I’d like to thank Andy for the opportunity to contribute to this blog, and I look forward to your comments, questions, and opinions.

Leave a Reply

