Hoot

When I started to collect certified autographs of St Louis Cardinals players I didn’t have any grand plan in mind. I had certain rules that I wanted to adhere to, and I always knew that it would be a finite collection, albeit one that could well take me a few years to complete.

You see I decided that time wasn’t going to be an issue. Whereas before I’d have been tempted to run out and grab as many autographs as I could in a really short space of time, on this occasion I decided I’d hold back a little – let the collection grow more organically through pickups, pulls and trades.

No rush! If I see a card that I needed, and could afford it, I’d grab it! If not, then no worries! They’d always be another one around the corner. I wasn’t going to be constrained by a particular player from a particular set. And the fact that I was only going for one autograph per player meant that I could really leave my options open.

Of course, there were certain cards that I was keen to get my hands on! Certain players who were personal favourites of mine and whose cards I hold with a particular reverence. Usually these cards always end up being a bit more expensive that the others on my list, so the fiscal element usually gets in the way of easily obtaining one or more of these cards.

Fortunately, through the recent sale of a Matt Harvey autograph (how good is THAT guy?!?!) I did manage to get my hands on a certified auto of one of the best players (in my humble opinion of course) to ever put on a Cardinals uniform, and certainly one of the best pitchers to ever play the game.

So, ladies and gentlemen, without any further ado I give you –

How cool is THAT?!?!?

This is one of the Team Topps Legends Reprints that ran through several different Topps products from 2001 to 2003. It’s an incredible set with an absolutely awesome array of signers! Click on the link to find out more about the set itself on Baseballcardpedia!

And it’s an on-card auto as well!!! Without a doubt one of my favourite Baseball card possessions!

Just look at that signature!! A true thing of beauty!!

I found this fantastic summary of Gibson’s life and career over at The Bleacher Report. Go give it a read if you want to find out more about the great man! You can even find out where he picked up the nickname ‘Hoot’.

As you can probably imagine this is a very special addition to my Cardinals Autograph selection. Unfortunately it ended up replacing the Tom Urbani that I picked up recently after I discovered he’s depicted on a Tigers team card despite wearing a Cardinals uniform (he was traded from St Louis to Detroit in the summer of 1996).

Hate doing it but rules are rules, and I’ve got to stick to them!

*

Back down to earth after this new arrival for my PC!! I’m off now to fill up my COMC account as I’ve seen a few reasonably priced autographs there that I can get my hands on!

The tireless search continues!

Leave a Reply

