The Great Cardinals Autograph Hunt Continues

Today has been a very good day!!

I don’t want to mislead you into thinking that things have been just OK or run of the mill! Nope, things have been ‘very good’!

And as I’m not one to exaggerate (that much) it’s safe to assume that when I say things have been ‘very good’ today, what I’m really getting at is that things have been pretty bloody exceptional!!

In the early hours of this morning (GMT) I had my two slots in a Gypsy Queen 3-box break (the Cardinals and the Orioles) courtesy of Kidder Cards. I won’t go into any great detail at this stage as to how that went, I’ll wait until the cards arrive to do that!

Let’s just say that I didn’t fair ‘too badly’ (there I go again with my gift for understatement!!).

No, what I wanted to concentrate on was a small parcel that arrived on my desk earlier at work containing the next three certified autos (all on-card) for my Cardinals autograph collection!

Following on from the Jason Motte that I received last Saturday I can now proudly present the latest additions in what I’ve decided to give the somewhat unorthodox name of ‘my collection’ (crazy I know – where does he get these naming conventions from?).

So without further ado I give you some faces of Cardinals past!

1996 Leaf Signature Series

Andy Benes

Benes was the No. 1 pick in the 1988 Baseball Draft and pitched for the Cardinals from 1996-97 and again from 2000-02, playing alongside his brother Alan during these periods. Notably Benes was one of the first players in Diamondbacks history when he signed as a free agent prior to the 1998 season.

1997 Donruss Signature Series

Matt Morris

Matt Morris spent the majority of his career with the Cards after being drafted in 1995. He became the staff ace in 2001 behind his 22 wins, 185 K’s and an ERA of 3.16, but opted for free-agency in 2005 when he signed with the Giants. After two injury-plagued seasons he was traded to the Pirates in 2007, but was released after five games into the 2008 season. He retired three days later!

I have a real soft spot for Morris as he helped me win my first ever fantasy league on the strength of his 2001 All-Star season, so I’m really happy to have this autograph in my collection.

2004 SP Authentic Chirography #’d 34/60

Bo Hart

Say who??

Bo Hart’s time with the Cardinals was short but not without note. He was drafted by the organisation in 1999 but didn’t make his debut until 2003. He broke a major league record (previously held by Kirby Puckett) when he hit .460 in his first ten games with the Cards, making his first month in the majors among the best debut months for a player in major league history.

His tenure was short-lived however when he was assigned to the minor leagues at the start of the 2004 season. He never played in the majors again but these days can often be found broadcasting for the Cardinals’ AAA-affiliate, the Memphis Redbirds.

*

So there we are! The collection now stands at a whopping four cards and hopefully, finances permitting, I’ll be adding some more very soon!

I’ll let you know what they are as and when they arrive!

Leave a Reply

