Pushing All The Right Buttons

Oh Gods of Baseball Card Collecting, why do you tempt me so???

What have I done to deserve such torment??

Ok… I come out and say that I’m taking a step back from collecting for a while. Surely that’s not unreasonable?? I would have come back into the fold at some point in the future.

But you can’t just let it be, could you? Oh no – you have to go and throw Panini’s National Treasures Baseball in my face!

I’ve only just spotted these pieces of cardboard perfection today and (as I believe the kids all say these days) OMG!!

I’ve made it clear on a couple of occasions that I’ve never been the biggest fan of non-licensed cards but Panini really blew me away last year with their Cooperstown Baseball set. I collected my thoughts on it in this semi-review last December. As a result of that set I’ve slowly been coming round to non-Topps Baseball cards as a viable collecting alternative!

I’d love to see what Panini would do with an official MLB license, I really would! This isn’t meant to be any anti-Topps rhetoric, I just think that, given the opportunity, they’d knock it out of the park… And given the over all look of 2012 Timeless Treasures Baseball I’ve got no reason to doubt it!

Check out some of these images from the official Panini America blog, The Knight’s Lance –

2012 Panini National Treasures - Lou Gehrig Button

2012 Panini National Treasures – Lou Gehrig Button

2012 Panini National Treasures - Buster Posey Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures – Buster Posey Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures - Bryce Harper Button

2012 Panini National Treasures – Bryce Harper Button

2012 Panini National Treasures - Miguel Cabrera Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures – Miguel Cabrera Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures - Pee Wee Reese Button

2012 Panini National Treasures – Pee Wee Reese Button

2012 Panini National Treasures - Mariano Rivera Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures – Mariano Rivera Button/Autograph

2012 Panini National Treasures - Satchel Paige Button

2012 Panini National Treasures – Satchel Paige Button

You can click here and here for more details about this product that hits the shelves next week (don’t quote me on that but that’s when Tracy Hackler believes it’s happening so that’s good enough for me).

UPDATED – I’ve now added the sell sheet for you to cast your eyes over.

At around $340 a box, which contains a single pack of 8 cards, this won’t be a product for everyone. And given what I’ve written about over the last couple of days concerning the ‘big hit’ mentality it’s a wonder I’m bringing these to the attention of anyone at all…

But the cards look so damn pretty!!! The mono-chrome image design set off against the clean white backgrounds really sets these cards apart from other high-end releases! Panini have really gone to town on these cards and the results are simply stunning!

And they’ve got buttons on cards!!! How cool is that?!?!?!?!?!

It might be the case that you’ll be able to pick up some singles from the set, along with some of the inserts and relics, at cheaper prices after a short while. Who knows, maybe the non-licensed aspect to it will scare some collectors away?

I certainly hope so… More of the good stuff for the rest of us if that’s the case!

I’ll be keeping a close eye on eBay over the coming weeks to see what sort of prices these are going for.

Hold on a sec, I’m not supposed to be collecting at the minute!!

Oh, screw it… that didn’t last long!

One thought on “Pushing All The Right Buttons

  1. Pingback: Please Be Upstanding…. For 2012 Panini National Treasures | The Wax Fantastic

Leave a Reply

