A Set of Baseball Cards that aren’t Baseball Cards

Forever on the search for something different I was browsing eBay last night (as you do) looking for Baseball cards of Negro League players.

I’m not going to into the history of the Negro Leagues here – this is something I’d rather leave to those individuals who are in a much better position in terms of knowledge and authority on the subject than myself – as I don’t feel I could treat the subject matter with the respect and sensitivity that it deserves.

However, if any of you have the time and inclination I strongly urge you to read about this period of Baseball history and introduce yourself to some of the greatest players ever to play the game – players whose achievements may well have even eclipsed the accomplishments of a number of their Major League contemporaries had their journey to the Majors not been inhibited by the colour of their skin.

Well, on eBay I didn’t find that many Baseball cards dedicated to the Negro Leagues but I did come across another curio that piqued my interest.

I few years ago I was a keen collector of playing cards, particularly the Bicycle brand produced by The United States Playing Card Company (USPCC). As with most of my collections I amassed a nice little selection of decks before moving on to something else equally as collectable.

So when I came across a Bicycle deck dedicated to the Negro Leagues I was immediately drawn in!

A set of Baseball CARDS that aren’t actually BASEBALL cards – interesting!!

Bicycle Playing Cards - Negro Leagues Series 1

Bicycle Playing Cards – Negro Leagues Series 1

Click on the following link to go directly to the details on the Bicycle website and you could also check out this article from The Network Journal which takes a closer look at the background of the deck.

What I find interesting is that this deck appears to be a Series 1, which indicates to me that they’ll be more to come.

Who knows, maybe USPCC will partner with Cooperstown for a Hall of Fame themed deck at some point in the future.

So while this isn’t strictly a Baseball card post in the truest sense, I just wanted to let you all know that these were out there and may well make a nice addition to your own Baseball card collections.

For those of us in the UK, if you wanted a deck of these then here’s the cheapest that I’ve found them on eBay.

I’ll definitely pick a deck up myself. I don’t know the full contents and I’m not sure if there are player portraits as well as team photography. I’d love it if there were players in as well… imagine a playing card with Cool Papa Bell on it!!!

I’ll post a mini-review as soon as I get hold of the cards!!

Leave a Reply

