For Those About to Rock… Topps Salutes You!

Ahhhh…. Topps Archives… Topps Archives… Topps Archives…

What can I say?

Last years Topps Archives release was my favourite set of the year! A brilliant mixture of old and new, paying homage to Topps Baseball designs from the 50’s to the 80’s and including a huge array of old-school inserts, SPs and autographs!

Fantastic stuff!

So naturally I was incredibly stoked to see what Topps had in the 2013 version and you can see my preview here.

One interesting addition that very little was known about prior to the release of 2012 Archives was the inclusion of two over-sized box topper autographs of stars from seminal 80’s movie, The Karate Kid – one card was even signed by John Kreese himself, the awesome Martin Kove!!

2012 Topps Archives Martin Kove Box Topper Autograph

So when Topps started to drop hints about a few surprises to be found in this years set I thought of some other classic 80’s movies again, and when Topps dropped the clue ‘Heavy’ I immediately thought of…

Marty: Whoa. Wait a minute, Doc. Are you trying to tell me that my mother has got the hots for me?
Doc Brown: Precisely.
Marty: Whoa. This is heavy.
Doc Brown: There’s that word again. “Heavy.” Why are things so heavy in the future? Is there a problem with the Earth’s gravitational pull?

Now… How cool would that be?? A box topper of Biff Tannen?? Emmet Brown??

I pursued the issue with Topps and it turned out I was completely barking up the wrong tree and yesterday Topps released details of their mystery surprise in the form of autographed cards of 80’s Heavy Metal stars!

OK… Not what I was looking for but a nice idea.

Now I know some of you Baseball purists out there balk at the idea of this type of insert in a Baseball product, but personally I don’t mind too much. It’s just a bit of fun after all! And then I saw the image of the Tommy Lee auto, and I was like, yuk! Personally, that is one fugly card!!!

2013 Topps Archives Tommy Lee Autograph

I don’t know if it’s just me or not but (subject matter aside) the whole design just doesn’t feel as if it belongs in the Archives product! It just feels really lacklustre and uninspired.

Sorry Topps, but I really wanted to love this yet I’ve come away from it with an almighty… MEH!! It might grow on me but I’m not holding out any hope.

As an aside these autographs are limited to 95 copies so, irrespective of my feelings on the matter, I can imagine that they’ll find an audience and start fetching crazy prices on eBay!!

But, all hope is not lost as another insert that Topps announced as being part of this set was the return of ‘Gallery of Heroes’ from the Topps Gallery sets of the late 90’s…

2013 Topps Archives Baseball Gallery of Heroes Roberto Clemente

Now that’s what I’m talking about!!!

These little beauties are modeled off the same design found in the 1997 set and look absolutely fantastic! Definitely a set I’ll be picking up, and I may well go back to the ’97 originals and pick up some of those as well. Not a total loss after all, I guess!

So, has this dented my enthusiasm for 2013 Topps Archives? Not in the slightest! I just feel that this was a real missed opportunity. Think of all those great movies that could have been represented!

Back to the Future, Ghostbusters, Gremlins, Big Trouble In Little China…. The list goes on, and on, and on…

And OK, it’s not Baseball – but what the hell! With sets like Topps Archives and Allen & Ginter’s, it’s always nice to have a bit of variety every now and again!

See you next time!

2 thoughts on “For Those About to Rock… Topps Salutes You!

Leave a Reply

