2013 Topps Archives Baseball Preview

Quick question… How do you improve on greatness?

Ordinarily I’d sat that was a pretty tall order, however next May I think I might be proved wrong… And I have a feeling I’m going to be quite happy about it as well!

For me the 2012 Topps Archives set was/is the best Baseball release of the year, beyond a shadow of a doubt!!

Modern players mixed with HOF’ers, all on classic Topps card designs from the 60’s, 70’s and the 80’s!! It works on so many different levels that I’m just blown away by the brilliance of it all (OK OK – apologies for the hyperbole there but Archives was one of the few card releases this year that pushed all the right buttons for me, so I’m going to allow it!).

Add into the mix a whole host of retro based inserts and autographs and you’ve got a winner, pure and simple!

Late last week Topps released the sell sheet for the 2013 Archives set, and it looks as if they’ve stuck to that age-old axiom, ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’!!

Check it out here and let me know what you think!!

You can also head on over to Cardboard Connection where Ryan gives you an even better preview.

May 2013 can’t come around quick enough as far as I’m concerned (providing those pesky Mayans don’t get their way this coming Friday)!!

3 thoughts on “2013 Topps Archives Baseball Preview

  1. Hmmm. I’m a little on the fence with this set, although the tall boys look interesting. I really like the Archives idea, they have used the idea well in the past. The autographs and relic look great but what are you chances of pulling them? So choosing ’72, ’82, ’85 and ’90 for the base cards is very brave. They certainly chose some bright ones though – Psychodelic 1972 and Gaudy 1990.
    Now 2013 Heritage that is another story completely. 1964 Topps!!!!

    • If you go down the Hobby route then I’m assuming it will be two autos per box and one relic per five boxes (think I’d sooner have the autos over the relic any day!)

      Archives does strike me as Heritage-lite, a product that’s designed to be fun while Heritage appeals more to the hardcore collector/set builder!

      Next years Heritage is nice!! I’m going to struggle!!!

  2. Pingback: The Wax Fantastic

Leave a Reply

