Christmas Is Coming, The Goose Is Getting Fat…

Traditionally I’m a bit of a ‘bah humbag’ at this time of year, despite having two children who start reaching the giddy heights of Christmas excitement far before December rolls along. Usually I leave it to the wife to whip things up into a festive fervour, and I just tend to go along for the ride… chipping in wherever necessary with a scowl or grimace at just the right moment, or a sarcastic yet witty repost directed at the mother-in-law just to put her in her place!!

However this year I’ve decided to start up a new, and hopefully annual, event in my life designed to bring a little bit of Baseball into this Yuletide period. Taking a leaf out of Tom and Donna’s book I’ve started my own Baseball card version of ‘Treat Yo Self’…*

To this end I’ve purchased a couple of treats off eBay in the form of a box of 2012 Topps Baseball Series 1 and a box of 2012 Bowman Draft Picks and Prospects!! Nice!!

Hopefully they’ll both appear in the post before Santa arrives so I’ll bring you a report when I get my hands on them!

* If anyone’s wondering, that clip comes from the awesome ‘Parks and Recreation’! This show will no doubt be familiar to many of you from the US and Canada but it’s coming to the UK on BBC4 in the new year!! Do yourself a favour and check it out if you get the chance, it’s one of my favourite comedies of the last few years!!

Leave a Reply

