Slightly off topic, but…

With the 2012 season firmly in our rear-view mirrors, it’s time to look forward to what 2013 will bring!!

And one of the biggest highlights of the start of the season for me is… drum roll please… the start of Fantasy Baseball!!

OK, call me shallow, but I just can’t help it. As soon as Yahoo opens up registration in mid-February I get giddy with excitement as I start to put together my draft strategies…

Who do I choose if I get the #1 pick? What if I’m in the middle of the round? What if I’m at the end of the round, and who do I use my consecutive picks on? Decisions, decisions…

Then it’s – Do I take an ace pitcher in the early rounds? When do I draft my first closer? Is R. A. Dickey going to have anywhere near the season he had last year? Do I still avoid Justin Morneau like the plague??

GOD – IT’S EXCITING!! ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!

So, it’s with this in mind that I wanted to let regular readers of this blog know that I’ll be putting together a ‘Wax Fantastic’ Fantasy Baseball League next season for anyone who’s interested in taking part!

It’ll be a standard 12-Team 5×5 Roto League set up through Yahoo (as far as I know it will still be free in 2013, as per usual) and I’ll post more details nearer the time! Still haven’t quite decided as to what type of draft I’ll do but I’ll worry about that nearer the time!

Hopefully we’ll manage to fill up all 12 teams but if any of you have any questions about what’s involved then please let me know!!

2 thoughts on “Slightly off topic, but…

    • Awesome news Glenn.

      I’ve been playing in a league that was set up by a baseball fan in the UK back in 2001 (through one of the old Yahoo Groups) and we’ll be entering our 13th season with a core of 7 or 8 of the original group still intact.

      If memory server I’ve come first either 8 or 9 times out of the 12 seasons we’ve played so far and it’s one of the few things I get really competitive over 🙂

      I just love the aspect of studying form and taking the odd punt on certain players!

      Glad to have you on board with this one. It will be open to anyone but the more UK based managers the better!!

Leave a Reply

