Caveat Emptor – Part 1 (Update)

If you read my post yesterday you’ll know that I had an issue with a purchase of a Rack Pack of 2012 Bowman Baseball over the weekend.

The auction listing contained a couple of inaccuracies relating to its ‘guaranteed’ contents of a Gerrit Cole prospect card so I emailed the seller in order to cancel the transaction.

The seller initially disputed my claim that the pack could contain a prospect autograph of Cole (despite it being exclusive to the Hobby packs) but offered a refund anyway. He then came back to me to advise the pack had been posted already and asked me for suggestions…

I pointed out the issue once again with the autograph not being included, and also added that the pack couldn’t possibly contain a Blue Wave refractor (which was also in the listing as a possible pull) as this was part of a Hobby exclusive wrapper redemption program – thanks for the heads up on that one Simon!

He then offered a partial refund of $7… I’d paid $18.63 (including shipping) for a pack that I didn’t really want now so $7 wasn’t really going to cut it. I decided at this point to make eBay aware and let them arbitrate on the issue. At this point he caved and gave me a full refund.

I offered to send the pack back but he told me to keep it but asked me not to leave low DSR (Detailed Seller Ratings – those little star ‘scores’ that you complete when you leave seller feedback) for him!!

Crazy!! The guy was willing to take over a $13 hit just so his eBay ratings weren’t affected!

Anyway, I ended up with the result I wanted and I have a 20 card Rack Pack thrown in for my troubles. By way of a celebration I’ll do a review of the contents of the pack just for the blog…

I’ll probably end up wetting myself if I pull the Bryce Harper autograph… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Caveat Emptor – Part 1 (Update)

    • Yeah… Thanks for your insight on that!

      On a ‘kind of a dick’ scale of 1 to 10 (a scale that you’re probably pretty familiar with) whereabouts would you rate me? With a 1 being a ‘little dick’ (again, something you’re probably pretty familiar with) to a 10 being ‘a huge knob’?

Leave a Reply

