Pack Busting: 2012 Allen & Ginter

I was recently selling some packs of 2012 Allen & Ginter on eBay from a retail blaster box and was left with 5 packs from the 8 that came in the original box.

Rather than re-listing them I decided to break them open to see what goodies lay inside… Lets face it there’s nothing better than busting open that wax, is there??

So here’s what I found…

2012 Topps Allen & Ginter

Pack 1

Jeremy Hellickson #49 (Base)
Yoenis Cespedes RC #79 (Base)
Matt Kemp #200 (Base)
Yonder Alonso #9 (Base)
Carlos Pena #313 (Base SP)
Curly Neal #85 (Mini – Black Border)

2012 A&G Yoenis Cespedes RC #79 Base

Pack 2

Rulon Gardner #16 (Base – Olympic Wrestler)
James Loney #101 (Base)
Jose Tabata #272 (Base)
Ryan Braun #58 (Base)
People of the Bible #PB-6 (Mini – Insert)
Prince Fielder #338 (Base SP)

2012 A&G People of the Bible Mini Insert ‘Daniel’

Pack 3

Yovani Gallardo #222 (Base)
Tsuyoshi Nishioka #147 (Base)
David Wright #121 (Base)
World’s Tallest Building #WTB-3 Petronas Tower (Insert)
Michael Taylor RC #261 (Mini – Normal Back)
What’s In A Name #WIN8 Cliff Lee (Insert)

2012 A&G World’s Tallest Buildings Insert WTB3 ‘Petronas Tower’

Pack 4

Phil Pfister #198 (Base – World’s Strongest Man)
Dee Gordon #298 (Base)
Cory Luebke #207 (Base)
‘Tom Chance’ Code Card
Jhonny Peralta #307 (Mini – A&G Back)
What’s In A Name #WIN15 Michael Pineda (Insert)

2012 A&G Code Card ‘Tom Chance’

Pack 5

Dayan Viciedo #255 (Base)
Torii Hunter #246 (Base)
Coco Crisp #209 (Base)
Steve Lombardozzi RC #240 (Base)
Jose Reyes #142 (Mini – A&G Back)
Josh Hamilton #328 (Base SP)

2012 A&G Josh Hamilton #328 Base SP

Martyn over at Arbitrary Crap opened a few of these packs the other day and got some dinged cards in the process. Luckily I didn’t have that problem, with all cards coming out of the packs nice and sharp!!

Now, I’m a massive fan of Allen & Ginter. Year upon year I think that it’s one of the most consistent sets that Topps produces. I just love the idea that everything seems to get thrown into a melting pot of ideas and somehow seems to get transformed into a Baseball card set unlike any other.

The design of the base cards in this years set is one of my favourites of the last few years and the insert sets are fantastic as always. I’ve said in a previous post that I’m a massive fan of the mini insert sets and managing to pull one of the incredibly popular ‘People of the Bible’ set was a real coup… despite the fact that I’ve already got it in my mini collection 🙂

I was really pleased with the Cespedes rookie card as well!! I also pulled him from a rack pack of 2012 Topps Archives earlier in the year so I guess he’s going to be my ‘can’t miss’ player this year…

Along with the base cards of Hamilton, Kemp, Braun and Fielder I’m pretty pleased with that little lot. Nothing really outstanding but not a bad little collection of cards overall!

If there’s anything in there that anybody wants, please let me know and we’ll sort something out!!

Here’s a few things that I didn’t know this morning…

  • Cliff Lee’s middle name is ‘Phifer’ (who’d have thought??)
  • This years Ginter Code was cracked by the same guys that cracked last years (more on that another time)
  • Curly Neal was a Globetrotter for 22 years
  • The Petronas Tower took 6 years to construct and sits on the world’s deepest foundations
3 thoughts on “Pack Busting: 2012 Allen & Ginter

    • Hey John!! Looks as if the prize for first ever post goes to you!!!

      I’ve got a 2012 Topps Series 2 Dustin Pedroia that I’ve just pulled from a pack! All yours if you want it

  1. Pingback: 2013 Topps Allen & Ginter’s Baseball Preview « The Wax Fantastic

Leave a Reply

