Heritage Is Coming… Heritage Is Coming…

The fact that Topps has pushed tomorrow’s official release of 2014 Heritage back to Friday 14th March shouldn’t come as any real surprise to anyone, and I truly doubt that it will dampen anyone’s enthusiasm for the product either. Interestingly enough, when I first started writing this post the release date had only been pushed back by two days, so go figure!

For me Heritage is the ‘true’ collectors set out of the whole of its annual baseball card output, perhaps more so than the base set and its unparalleled parallels!

I’ve never been a set collector before, never really had the time or patience for it, but I’ve decided to change my tact this year and will be putting together my first set EVER this year… in the form of ’14 Heritage!

And why change the habit of a lifetime?

  1. I love me some ’65 Topps, my favourite vintage design alongside ’54 and ’57
  2. 2013 Topps Heritage was awesome, with a real nice balance of collectibility and hits. If 2014 can get anywhere near that then us collectors can’t go far wrong
  3. Several UK-based collectors are chasing 2014 Heritage sets this year, so there will be more cards flying around on this side of the pond to make putting a set together more fun and more achievable
  4. Improved card stock, if rumours are to be believed. More like A&G thickness than 2013 Heritage ‘thickness’ please!

I’ve already pre-ordered a couple of Hobby boxes to set me on my way, and I have no doubt that there will be more to follow!

Can’t wait for this!!! Really can’t wait!

As a result of my Heritage infatuation I have no doubt that there will be numerous Heritage-related posts appearing on these pages over the coming weeks, as well as a proper review in the days following my receiving and busting my own boxes!

For those of you who aren’t too keen on Heritage… SERIOUSLY?!?!? What the hell’s wrong with you?!?!?

;)

Am I the only one out there who’s looking forward to this set? or are there any more Heritage freaks out there?? Let’s have a show of hands!

And if Heritage doesn’t ‘float your boat’, what set are you looking forward to over the coming months?

For those who can’t wait a few more days, here’s the proposed Hobby box design, along with a few advanced images courtesy of Topps… Love that bottom one!!

65_box

65_fielder

65_kershaw

65_Flasbacks

65_manager

65_draft

65_rookies

65_black2

65_auto

65_quad

2 thoughts on “Heritage Is Coming… Heritage Is Coming…

  1. I love Heritage. It’s the only product I really care about. First of all, the early designs were just better. So much better. They were full of color and life. Modern cards with their foil are lifeless and colorless (parallel border colors aside). Further, I’ve always preferred the posed shots to the action photography. I want to know what my heroes look like. I want them posed in a way I can imitate. Lift that bat just off your shoulder, get that determined look in your eyes and, just like that, you’re Mickey Mantle. The action cards, heck, I couldn’t do any of that…even when I was young. They all look alike to me. Bleh! Third, I prefer a little less gloss and shiny than the flagship offers (which is ironic, since I usually love high gloss). Ideally, I’d like Heritage to have the kind of look and feel of the old cards–they’ve been a little too flat. Looking at those samples, I’m getting really hopeful. Look at the reflection on Prince and Clayton; that’s how cards are supposed to look. Maybe that’s what they mean by improved card stock–having nothing to do with thickness–just that beautiful old school baseball card semi-gloss. Yeah, Heritage is my card set of choice and has been from the beginning. Call me a freak, I’m busting the heck out of this one.

  2. Welcome to the wonderful world of set building, Andy! And Heritage is the perfect place to start! The SPs will frustrate the hell out of you, but with a little patience they’ll eventually come to you at the right price. Hopefully, we can help each other along the way.

Leave a Reply

