“Squirrel!”

One of my favourite parts of the movie ‘Up’ ( aside from that heartbreaking opening few minutes) was the introduction of Dug the dog!

Dug’s inability to maintain any level of focus or concentration on a given task due to constantly being distracted by a particular bushy-tailed rodent always managed to put a wry smile on my face. The notion of giving a human voice to dogs was a genius move anyway, but Dug holds a genuine place in my heart!

“My name is Dug. I have just met you, and I love you!”

But what does an animated creation from Pixar have to do with Baseball cards?!? That’s not an unfair question!!

Well, the problem is, I’ve given a lot of thought to my collecting habits again recently and it suddenly occurred to me that my collecting ‘mind-set’ is very similar to Dug’s in the way I approach putting card collections together!

You see, I always start out with grand ideas!! Good intentions about what I want and how I’m going to go about getting it! I recently told you all about a collection of SPs from this year’s Topps Archives that I was going to try and put together. At the same time I also decided to have a stab at collecting the 2013 Archives gold parallel set #’d/199. Lofty and time consuming goals, I had no doubt, but something to get my teeth into and build over time. I even re-structured some of my other mini-collections just so I could fit these in!

“Fantastic!” I thought to myself!! Clarity of thought! A clear sense of purpose!! A straightforward and thought through collecting goal!!! Isn’t that what we all strive for in this great Hobby of ours?? I felt like I’d reached a collecting turning point! One where I can finally lay to rest the heavy burden of indecision!! One where I could… “Squirrel!!”

See? It went and happened again!! Another idea just popped into my head for another collection! And another!!! And another!!!

It goes on!!

I’m forever cursed with the inability to focus on a single thing to collect! I’m always swayed my something different! It doesn’t have to be newer or shinier, just different enough to engage my interest for those important few seconds, giving me enough time to lose interest in one thing only to gain interest in another! Just like Dug!

Am I the only one out there that’s like this?? I tell myself that I can’t be but sometimes I just don’t know! Perhaps I should be scorned for this? Maybe I should just be pitied?? Maybe I should just start up a collection of ‘things that interest me at a given moment in time’? I could call it the ‘Eclectic Collection’, or something along those lines!!

You have to appreciate that I have tried to stick with one thing! I have tried to build a PC around a particular player, team or theme! Unfortunately I just can’t maintain it! On this occasion I blame Glenn and his talk of putting a vintage set together without it breaking the bank! I always end up coming back to vintage!! I love new products, new cards, new sets – but vintage Baseball always has more of an allure to it!! For me at least!

I love it that people can put their own PCs together, and I’ll always try and support them whenever I can, wherever they might be in the world! The fact that they can concentrate on a single project(s) is always worthy of admiration and respect, especially given my collecting track record :)

Perhaps one day I’ll manage to string together a decent collection together, something where I can finally slide the final card in place and look down with a true sense of pride and accomplishment! Perhaps there is still hope for me yet!

So now I’ve got to step back, take a deep breath and refocus once more! If I didn’t love Baseball cards so much I’m sure I wouldn’t put myself through it!! And if there are others of you out there who share my indecisiveness I’d love to hear from you! Maybe we could start up a little club, or something!

“I will stay in the hole. I will stay in the hole. I will stay… in the – now I am going down the hole. It is very dark in the hole.”

2 thoughts on ““Squirrel!”

Leave a Reply

